On a personal note…

hand-writing-in-notebook

I share things from my life on this blog, but I don’t always share what’s current in my life. I tend to leave the up to the minute stuff to Facebook. However, I felt that since we have so much going on, it would be best to blog it and not create a mega long post on Facebook about stuff. So here’s what’s happening in our lives (with personal information, names, specific places, etc. redacted):

Overview

After spending nearly five years in the DC area, my family will be moving to Missouri. My husband and I are native Missourians (as most of my readers know), but this will be our daughter’s first time living in the Show-Me State.

We had been praying for more than a year about if/when we would leave Virginia, and we believe that the Lord opened a door for us to spend a season closer to our family.

Traveling to Missouri

This week, we will be traveling to Missouri to find a house (more on that below), visit our new church (more on that, too), and meet with our new pastor. This time will also afford me the opportunity to get some rest after being so busy for the past few weeks. I’m hoping to also get some much needed preparation work done with all of the free babysitting that our parents will be offering (*hint hint*).

Getting packed up

After we return to Virginia, we’ll spend the following week getting the remainder of our things packed up and the U-haul boxes loaded. If you’re in the area and want to be a cool kid and give us a hand, we’ll be loading the lion’s share of our stuff up June 7-8.

There’s gonna be a wedding

Some good friends of ours are getting married on June 12th, and they asked my little girl to be in their wedding several months ago. We’re excited and honored to be part of their special day before we leave.

The (other) big day

The day after the wedding (June 13th, unless we’re too pooped), is when we will be leaving the Commonwealth of Virginia and driving back to Missouri.

The wedding venue is about a half hour from our house, so we decided that it would be best to stay in a hotel closer to the venue rather than risk getting suck in traffic. We’ll also be close enough for an emergency nap, should one be needed.

When we check out of the hotel, we’ll come back to the house to get the remainder of our belongings and the dog and then hit the road.

Since it’s summer time, we’ll be taking the ‘short’ way along Interstate 64 instead of our usual route on I-70. We will drive through the night and arrive at my in-laws’ farm sometime in the morning hours of June 14th. In all, the trip will be about 18 hours…possibly a few hours less if we don’t have to stop a million times for the dog and the kid.

Finding a house

We are returning to the same city that we left almost five years ago. We still own a house there, but we won’t be able to move back in because it’s currently being rented. As a result, we have to rent a house until the lease on the house that we own is up.

I’m bummed that we won’t be moving into our house straight away, I’ve missed my little house for all of these years. However, not moving back in right away is likely a huge blessing. Our house has been inhabited by upwards of 20 people over the past five years (not to mention being the host home for many college parties). It’s in good shape considering, but I want to do some much needed updates and repairs before we move back in. (Specifically, I want to completely redo the kitchen and install new flooring on the lower level…and some other stuff if we’re not too poor)

My new gig

My husband started a new job a few months ago that allows him to work entirely from home. It’s been such a blessing to us (and hopefully the topic of a future blog post once we’re settled) and has allowed us to be able to make this move with peace of mind.

In a few weeks, I’ll be starting my job as the full-time teen pastor at an Assemblies of God church in the area. I’m not quite at liberty to say where yet, but I will say that it is in a small, but growing church.

It’s been almost two years since I’ve been a teen pastor. I’m elated to get back in to teen ministry.

Because…reasons

All of this has ended up being such a whirlwind. Everything seems so rushed and happening so quickly. It was only a week or so ago that I was saying that we were returning to Missouri.

In reality, this hasn’t been a rushed, snap decision…or at least not in the way that such decisions can be rushed or snap.

The long and short of it is that we had been praying about the future for quite some time and the Lord opened up a door that only He could open. We were never fully opposed to the idea of going back to Missouri (just as we’re not opposed to leaving again and going elsewhere), but we knew that if we went back it would be Jesus’ leading and not out of our own desire or others’ entreaties.

One thing we’ve learned over the last decade is to never say never and to always stay open and be listening for what the Lord is saying and doing next. After seasons such as this, it’s amazing to look back and see how God’s timing and plans were utterly perfect, though at the time things looked weird on the outside. This has happened every single time we’ve made any significant transition in our lives…and I’m always left hoping that we don’t look like a couple of crackheads doing crackhead stuff.

No quarrels, no shade

Our decision to leave Virginia, and the decision not to attend our home church in Missouri, was made because of how/where we believe that Jesus is directing us and not because of any quarrel with anyone. I always feel that it’s necessary to say these kinds of things. It’s probably because I’ve seen so much drama and butthurtedness over the years, and so I want to nip it in the bud rather than run the risk of misunderstanding later.

Final thoughts

I’m going to miss living on the East Coast. There are people who I will miss. There are places that I’ll miss. There are conveniences and aspects of the culture that I will miss. At the same time, I’m happy to be going home. Only the Lord knows what the next few years hold, but we’re happy to be in His plan.

 

What do you think?

