The 15 times English nearly died

Part of me dies when I see the English language severely mistreated by its users. I know that English is a difficult language, but I fail to see how so many of us don’t understand basic rules of grammar, syntax, and usage.

The following picture list isn’t for the faint of heart. This isn’t your basic butchering of your and you’re. This is the English language beaten bloody, stripped butt naked, and left out in the gutter for dead. Consider yourself warned:

2015/01/img_4967.jpg

If you’re going to insult half of the population, at least have the sense to use proper grammar. “ARE generation of WOMAN?” Really now?

2015/01/img_4966.jpg

Reading this sign hurts my mind, body, and soul. The meter takes the quarter’s only what? It reads like an incomplete headline. I’m actually the most offended by ‘takes.’ Perhaps it’s because the Internet has desensitized me to people not knowing when it’s appropriate to use apostrophes.

2015/01/img_4968.jpg

My mind wonders how the radio station that posted this graphic could have missed such a glaring error.

2015/01/img_4969.jpg

I have to believe the Almighty would not want to take responsibility for something that happened “all they way.”

2015/01/img_4971.jpg

Worser. Not worse than, but WORSER. I can’t.

2015/01/img_4973.jpg

If you listen closely, you can hear the sound of 10,000 English teachers screaming.

2015/01/img_4974.jpg

I weep when I think of how many people laid eyes on this design before it even ended up in a store.

2015/01/img_4976.jpg

Million dollar idea: A tattoo design proofreading firm. People send in their tattoo ideas and the firm checks them for grammar, spelling, etc. and makes sure the design wouldn’t be potentially embarrassing for the wearer.

If you start it, I want to be cut in for 45% of the profits.

2015/01/img_4972.jpg

Quotation marks are not a clever way to dress up text. They are never decorations. Never.

2015/01/img_4975.jpg

Perhaps life is the latest noun to become a verb (in the same way that Facebook has made friend a verb) and this person is on the cutting edge of the trend.

2015/01/img_4979.jpg

This is an example of why it’s important to teach your kids the correct way to pronounce stuff.

2015/01/img_4980.jpg

I want my Christmas wrath to be as fresh as the next guy’s, but I’m not sure if I want to pay $499 for it.

2015/01/img_4981.jpg

Mandatory nice comment: Hooked on Phonics worked for him.

IMG_5246

It’s interesting the number of people who don’t know the difference and/or proper usage of the words think, thing, and thank.

I can see where one’s accent might make think and thank homophones, but I don’t get how people conflate think and thing.

And you would think that a local weather site would proofread their posts.

IMG_4978

I’ve seen this tweet several times on the Interwebs, and every time I think, “What if this wasn’t a spelling mistake?”

And my soul withers…

One thought on “The 15 times English nearly died

What do you think?

